Some people prefer to settle down and start a family in a rural area. Other people prefer the convenience of the big city. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Advancement of society has created a lot of opportunities to explore and most of them are available in urban areas. A higher standard of living means more population and pollution. I personally believe that settling down in rural areas would be a great idea. I feel this way for three reasons which I would explore in the following essay.

First of all, Rural areas have the most healthy and environmental-friendly lifestyle. Living in villages can also make us healthy as we will not be exposed to pollution like in cities. Cities are becoming the hubs for industries which consequently makes them unhealthy. The life of my uncle is a compelling example of this. My uncle used to work in an industry that makes medicines. As the industry uses a lot of chemicals, he was exposed to those harmful substances, and his health was damaged in the long run. On the other day, he fell ill and came to know that his lungs were damaged a bit because of being exposed to chemical gases. After that, he decided to move to a less polluted rural area. His lungs started healing and he is doing absolutely fine now.

Secondly, the food we can find in rural areas is relatively healthy than in urban areas. According to the proverb “We are what we eat”, humans need to consume healthy food. Unfortunately, urban lifestyle encourages junk food more than healthy food. For instance, cities have these places like McDonald’s, BurgerKing which are based exclusively on junk food whereas the average villager diet in India consists of green veggies, dal, and other healthy recipes.

Finally, people in rural areas are more connected to each other. Rather than money or fame, our relationship with people is more important to make our soul happy. Considering this aspect villagers offer more love and care to others than the people in cities. Urban people run all day to finish their jobs and come home to rest, they never get a chance to interact with neighbours too. In villages, it is quite opposite. For example, in my childhood, we used to live in a village, once I had a bike accident and many people had came to help me and admitted me in hospital, they took care of me till my parents arrive. Such a great gesture can not be seen in people living in urban lifestyle.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that settling down in rural areas is a lot better. This is because rural areas are less polluted, offer healthy lifestyle and people are socially more connected.