Some people say that the Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The invention of the internet has enabled the availability of an inundate amount of information about the world. Accessing valuable information has never been so easy due to the advent of the internet. Though some people believe that the internet is an incredible source for a lot of valuable information, others believe that access to information is an invitation to problems. I do not agree that access to information could create problems for the following reasons.

Firstly, the ability to access information easily due to the internet has rendered many students with the ability to study from home and become self-sufficient. Students no longer need the validation of a degree to assert that they are knowledgeable in a particular field. For example, in a recent survey conducted in Google, it was found that 75% of the employees didn’t actually graduate from colleges but still had the necessary skills and experience that was required for the job. Google even went far and beyond to ensure that the employees would remain updated with the technological front by conducting regular training exercises for its employees which they could access anytime from their home. From the above example, it is quite clear that the internet has the power to fulfil the education demand of any student and even train people to perfect themselves.

Secondly, the internet has made it easy to access global news. Due to the internet anybody can know what’s happening on one side of the world by sitting on the complete opposite side. Various platforms on the internet provide news to the general public which has rendered the newspapers moot. The ability to access news and get acquainted with the outside world has never been so quick and easy. For example, in a recent study conducted in the USA, it was found that 90% of the population consider reading the news during their commute times on their smartphones as it is easy to read the content in a crowded vehicle and there is no hassle of folding and returning the newspaper back into the bag or carrying luggage or even hold it in hand after reading. From the above example, it is quite clear that access to valuable information via the internet has made the lives of ordinary people much easier and more comfortable. Also, the added benefit of receiving news from the internet and not through the paper is especially beneficial to the environment.

This is why I believe that the capability to perceive information through the internet has changed our world into a digital frontier where students can get employed with the required skills without a college degree and people can be updated with the global news without the hassle of a paper delivery system.