The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The editor of the Balmer Island Gazette received a letter where the recommendation was made for the reduction in the number of moped rentals per day in an attempt to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. The town council came to this conclusion based on the issues faced on the neighboring island of Seaville. However, before deciding whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted results, the following questions must be answered.

First of all, is the dimensionality of the roads in Balmer and Seaville comparable? In other words, can we say that the width of the road for mopeds and pedestrians is similar on both the islands? Maybe the roads on Seaville would be much narrower making it difficult for mopeds to circumvent the pedestrians walking on the road. Thus, the result of more accidents in Seaville. It could be that the width of the road is sufficient in Balmer to accommodate the walking pedestrians and the mopeds thereby not causing any accidents. The council is coming to the presumptuous conclusion that roads on both the islands are very similar. If the above scenario does hold true, the argument in the original conclusion is significantly weekend.

Secondly, an island where mopeds serve as a popular mode of transportation, wouldn’t have more mopeds on the road than pedestrians? Being a popular mode of transportation, people are more likely to choose mopeds due to the ease of travel especially in the months of summer to avoid the painstaking heat. Further, as the town council is recommending the reduction in the number of mopeds from 50 to 25 per day, this could have an adverse effect with more pedestrians and thereby increasing the risks of more accidents. Also, due to the lesser availability of mopeds during the summer, complaints could arise from people due to the intense heat. If the above does hold true, then the argument does not hold water.

Lastly, are the places in the Balmer Island within a walking distance? The reason for mopeds being a popular mode of transportation could be because the places within the island are much disjointed and thereby people do not choose to walk. The council has assumed that just like the island of Seaville, Balmer also has everything within walking distance. It could be that people in Seaville use the mopeds only while travelling for a longer distance and that longer driving under the heat could cause lack of judgement and cause more accidents. But this situation might not arise in Balmer Island. If the above scenario does hold true, then the argument has to be considered again.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on the several unwarranted assumptions. If the council is able to answer the above questions and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic study), then it will be possible to fully decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result of a smaller number of accidents on Balmer island.