Some people think that all school students should learn a foreign language , others , however, think that a student should not be required to learn a foreign language if he or she does not have talent for it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

With globalization becoming a trend, people see a need to master a foreign language. Being bilingual or even trilingual might help people to be more skilled in their career field. It is believed by a group of people that all school students should learn a foreign language to cope with the trend. However,the opposite idea that there is no need to master a second language also gains some support since what if the student doesn’t have gift for that.

Those who are for that idea definitely have their ground. Mastering a new language enables students to be more competitive in both their career and academic field. Advanced technology and transportation are shrinking the distance between people and different fields. There are more opportunities that practitioner would engage in communicating with or learning from people from other countries who speak a different language. A better language skill would allow workers to have better edge. Students should be always prepared for career.

Some people insist that students should not be required to learn a foreign language if he or she doesn’t have a gift for that. Admittedly, some students are not born to be talented in language. To be more specifical, some students might have some natural deficiency about their tongues. Therefore, they just can’t pronounce well, sometimes even in their native language. There is another case, learning a foreign requires students to memorize tons of words but some students are just not good this even thought they might be excellent in logical reasoning, critical thinking, arithmetical and so on. For those type of students, time arrangement should more shift on the things they are good at instead of learning a language.

Personally, I stand in the middle of the two ideas. A foreign language is of great importance to student nowadays. But a second language acquisition takes a lot of efforts and requires talents, therefore it is more reasonable not to make a second language learning a required course. Letting student to make the option whether or not to learn is a wise choice.