Some people think that scientists make the most important contributions to society. Other people think that the contributions of artists are the most important. Which position do you agree with? Give specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I have a firm opinion that scientists make the most significant contributions to the society and have been doing so for over a period of more than hundred years. Scientists have made human lives much more easier and simpler in my opinion. I believe this for two main reasons which will be reflected in my essay.

Firstly, scientists have the toughest jobs to deal with projects or formulate products which need to have a positive impact and have useful applications. Scientists have to do many iterations of experiment and not give up at any stage, to come up with the right technique to solve problems of the society. To be specific, the earth is in dire state due to the adverse effects of climate change because of reliance on fossil fuels for fuel and energy generation. The problem has persisted for a long time now with no possible solution. Scientists offered a solution for this issue by inventing the technology of electric vehicles. Electric vehicles are enviromantal friendly and consume renewable sources of energy for fuel. This discovery by scientists has impacted humanity and transformed their lives and given them a new hope for pollution free earth.

Secondly, scientists have to predict changes that could occur in the future and be future ready by developing products that are relevant.

Scientists have to be very skilled and technically sound to make such decisions and this inspires people to do more research. Thus, they motivate the future generation to strive and achieve more complex goals. This kind of inspiration from artists is not possible since artists contributions are limited to arts and cannot impact as many people as scientists. For instance, the Indian Space Research facility was always seen as a tyro in its field. However it was the dedication of countless scientist which made it possible for a developing country such as India to launch satellites and rockets in space almost at one-eight of the price of a developed country. This accomplishment has made every Indian proud and instill confidence and lots of inspiration.

Therefore, I believe that scientists contribution to the society are much more important than the artists. Scientists have always played a pivotal and crucial lives by inventing and discovering things which can change the lives of the people and in the process, motivating people to achieve even greater accomplishments.