There are common mistakes that can be done without our self control and judging people at first sight is one of these mistakes. In my view, everyone has a different and valuable character and no one can show theirselves in the same way. For this reason, I believe that judging from first impression is wrong.

First of all, the moment we met people is one of the most determining thing for our first impression. Because, at that very moment, that person might be sad, sick, hopeless, busy, excited, hungry and so on. All these parameters and more are plays a very significant role in their behavior. A person who seems friendly at the beginning can be a very two-faced person. Or someone who seems cold and snob may have trust issues in his/her past and that makes this person to take slow steps. Every single person have their own reason to act in a different way to show their real self. Therefore, without getting to know someone well, we should not judge people. For example, I met my best friend at collage and at the beginning I really disliked her because of my prejudgements. After a couple of weeks, I started to get to know her better and I saw that we have so much in common. Now, I am really glad that I took a chance to talk to her and grateful that she is still in my life and making my life tolerable.

Secondly, sometimes we hear about people and we create an idea about these people without giving any chance to express himself/herself. These gossips are one of the biggest obstacle for meeting someone for the first time. Because, we assume that the person we heard about before is good or bad. Hence, our relationship with these people built up in an unhealthy way.

Another thing that about this subject is the way we act at first meetings. Maybe we look so unfriendly, bored, tired or very cheerful at first and that also could affect the actings of the other persons. Furthermore, in time the way we act changes and others may started to think that we changed a lot however, we were always the same. Unfortunately, only thing that changes is the amount of the information they collected.

As a conclusion, many people - including me- judges others without any consideration. But, this is the biggest mistake that we make to ourselves because, we miss a chance to know someone accurately.