Some people trust their first impressions about a person’s character because they believe these judgments are generally correct. Other people do not judge a person’s character quickly because they believe first impressions are often wrong. Compare these two attitudes. Which attitude do you agree with? Support your choice with specific examples.

First impression is considered to be important all over the world. Many people trust their instincts when they decide about a person's character, even though they have never met him before. It is not my case and as far as I am concerned nobody should be judged only after one meeting, due to the fact that they can be influenced by new environments or by prior circumstances. I will explain my statement, in the following essay.

To begin with, some individuals need some time to accommodate themselves in a fresh environment. New things, places, people or habits may be scary or intimidating, and consequently these may not allow to some persons to show their real face. Furthermore, the humans' survival instinct might be also a significant factor. For instance, when I enter to a building or a room, that is full with foreigners, I scan it for a few seconds, in order to reassure myself that is safe enough. Another compelling example is related to one of my best friends. Back in college, in the first day of the term, I saw a blond girl who was sitting alone, having a serious, unapproachable figure. My first impression was that her attitude was arrogant and superior, but subsequently these judgments proved to be completely wrong. We were introduced by another colleague, and soon we became best friends. In fact, she was friendly, funny, talkative and we had numerous common standpoints. It was after-wards when she confessed she was coming from a small town, and that it usually takes her a while to adapt to new people.

Secondly, the human comportment can be influenced by previous events. Somebody's mood can lead to a behavior that does not represent him. There are people who suffer from depression, loneliness or people who had unusual experiences beforehand. Some are emotional and they cannot dissimulate their emotions, and therefore this can conduct to misjudgments. For instance, when I was working, my company decided to hire a employee in my department. I remember having a very difficult time, because of the high volume of work I had to deal with. That times I was working late and I was not interacting with my fellows. Allegedly, he considered I was introverted and unsociable, supposition that was thoroughly false. Probably that's why he did not invite me to his birthday party.

To summarize, nobody should be judged by first impression, because this can be often misleading. Unknown environments and bad experiences can make people act in a manner that does not reflect their truly face.