Some people trust their first impressions about a person’s character because they believe these judgments are generally correct. Other people do not judge a person’s character quickly because they believe first impressions are often wrong. Compare and contrast these two attitudes. Which attitude do you agree with? Support your choice with specific examples.

It is commonly said that the first impression is the most important because people are judged on how they present themselves. Some people like to analyse a person a few seconds after they meet, while others like to get to know each other before to conclude. I firmly agree that the first impressions are often wrong!

The character of a person may vary depending on the environment one is found and often first impressions are based on instincts. For instance, for a person who is met in a job setting the first impressions might be different from one meeting at a party. Nevertheless, these traits do not define a person truly. Often these traits are reflected to have control of their emotions and create an atmosphere related to their activities. In a job setting, it is crucial to have a space full of confidence and professionalism to make good contacts and relationships. When I met my best friend, she was in her office. I did not come across that we could end up being friends because one of my first interactions with her my instincts and emotions described her as a serious, unsatisfied and fun killer person. Then, accidentally, one night I went out, and we were in the same bar. Her character was completely different; she was joyful, charismatic, enthusiastic, and happy. Since then, we continuously see each other. As a result, I was wrong from the way I have perceived her before. Consequently, most people think that the first impressions are important, that is why many people have learned new skills to imitate their first approach to have a nice impression which is usually fake.

People make assumptions on the first approach and generally judge others without hesitation. This general judgment might negatively impact people, for example, at my job a new employee was hired. One of my coworkers met him before and started spreading rumours that the new guy was lazy, unfriendly, and rude. All these rumours were only based on his first interaction with the new employee because he believed that the new impressions are usually correct. These actions lead the rest of the group to start making assumptions before even meeting him. Then, I met him, I knew what was the impression he gave to my coworker. However, I kept talking to him and after a few weeks, I realised that my coworker was mistaken. The new employee was anxious and afraid, and he did not do anything the first few days because he didn't know what he was doing. Therefore, making general judgments based on first impressions is generally incorrect.