Some students like to take distance-learning courses by computer. Other students prefer to
study in traditional classroom settings with a teacher. Consider the advantages of both
options, and make an argument for the way that students should organize their schedules.
Both distance-learning courses and traditional classes provide important but different
experiences for college students. On the one hand, there are many advantages to distance learning
courses. One of the most important benefits is the opportunity to attend class on your
convenience. This is very important for students who hold full-time jobs since they can choose
to take their classes on a schedule that allows them to continue working. Another advantage is
the chance to complete assignments at your own pace. For students who can work more quick
than their classmates, it is possible to earn more credits during the semester. A huge advantage
to international students is the option of listen to lectures more than once.
On the other hand, there are advantages to attending a traditional class. The structured
environment is beneficial, especially for students who are not as highly motivating. In addition,
it is more likely that you will develop a personal relationship with the teacher, an advantage not
only for the course but also after the course when you need a recommendation. By seeing you
and talking with you face-to-face, the teacher will remember you better. It is also easier to get
an immediate response to questions because you only have to raise your hand instead sending
e-mail and waiting for an answer. Last, the opportunity for study groups and friendships is
different and more personal when you sit in the same room.
Given all the advantages of both types of courses, I think that students would be wise to
register for distance-learning courses and traditional classroom courses during their college
experiences. By participating in distance-learning courses, they can work independently in
classes that may be more difficult for them, repeating the lectures on computer at convenient
times. By attending traditional classes, they can get to know the teachers personally and will
have good references when they need them. They will also make friends in the class. By sharing
information with other students, they can organize their schedules for the following semester,
chosing the best classes and including both distance-learning and traditional courses.