Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

There are several ways to examine a society and its values. However techniques based on observation are most of the time requires great effort to totally grasp. On the other hand, the heroes and role models choosen by these people are obvious and presents you directly what the society values the most. Therefore I agree the author’s claim stating that the best way to understand a society is to examine the role models choosen by its citizens since they reflect the highest ideal of that society.

First of all, we have to make the definition of the hero more clear. Hero is the main character of your bedtime stories since your chilhood. Someone told to you about or someone you read the stories of with a sense of appreciation, glory and pride. There is a dual relationship though. The more you learn about with an accompaniying sense of reverence the the more you start to respect the values possesed by the hero, therefore this idealized person excites you more. In time, this possesed values by heroes turns into your values and hero stories fulfills their actual duties: Endow you with the qualities that you society values the most.

As humans, we are combination of what we like. There are some situations that we cant fully excersice ourself and our ideals but still thing we value are inherent in us. Societies are also like that, there is cumulative consciousness of a society that creates their ideals. Turkish people value family but more than that they value sacrifices for the sake of their nation therefore there are many stories about a mother leaving his child in cold to carry wood to the army. Eventually her child dies, a story might seem very ridiculous and scary to anyone belonging to another culture. However, if you examine the Turkish culture such stories are told with a sense of pride. Not as extreme as in the case of mother leaving her child to death, but there are signs of this sacrifice culture in the society. People boast about how they leave their beloved ones for a major good or even within family, parents are happy to tell what they forgo for their childrens educations. Therefore, its very common to see signs of main themes in the hero stories if you observe daily lifes and relations of people.

Finally, I believe the best way to understand the culture is by looking at their ideals and heroes since it is very time consuming and hard to observe a nation living at dispersed locations. Even if you manage to do so, you can’t understand the intimadations or subtle nuances in their daily lives. In hero stories, most of the time there is a message aimed to give, everything is idealized and obvious which makes it easy to understand and interpret which will lead a total understanding of the societies unstated norms and values.

To conclude, heroes and role models are easy to understand and interpret for scholars and they contain important features about a society therefore they are the best way to understand the character of a society.