To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Characteristics of a society is highly variable within a country's border therefore a complete understanding of it requires broader examination. A study conducted only on its major cities as presented in the statement would led to deceitful results. Major cities are melting pots where people from different nations or immigrants come to live to participate in economic activities and this places are in close encounter with other cultures. Therefore a study taking only the major city into focus can not reflect the society as a whole. It is impossible to find a single answer for what are the elements of a society therefore a broader study differentiating between places such as rural areas, urban areas, deserted places and seaside must be conducted for a better understanding.

First I want to talk about how major cities distinctly differ from other parts of the country. The economic activities in major cities are mainly well paying jobs in service sector, banking, technology companies which requires qualified and educated workers. This attracts not only educated people within country to the major cities but also attracts people from other countries creating a diverse culture which is far from being close to characteristics presented at a rural area. To expatiate, the life style of people in Berlin, one of the biggest metropolitans, has little similarity with a person living at Köln. The fast pace of life there, the requirements of the economic activities and the continues interaction with expatiates created a diverse and distinc culture. This life style and characteristics are distinct to urban life and more succesfully compared to an other major city such as London. Therefore, claiming that a major city will reflect the overall characteristics of a society is fallacious.

Secondly, even within the borders of a country the culture significantly differs. If the people are more isolated they show different characteristics if the people live in a seaside they show different characteristics. Its hard to find the reflections of the characteristics of people engaging in agricultural activities in an urban city. Also, major cities are not the places to look signs of coastal culture. Each society shows slightly different characteristics depending on their economic activities which are shaped by geography and climate. Therefore, to determine such characteristics this differences should also be considered.

To conclude, major cities inevitably reflects some aspects of a society but they are also shaped by many factors and people living there shows much similarities to people living in other major cities rather than the rest of the country. Hence, study of them would present biased results.