"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can ın plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the argument presented, a deduction has been made that birth order affects individuals levels of stimulation taking three unseemly related studies as an evidence. The studies on first-born monkeys, first-born humans and first-time mothers ,far from being complementary, each have their own flaws by themselves therefore susceptible to other interpretations.

The first study discussed in conducted on a very small sample as 18 rhesus monkeys which we have no information on the sample characteristics. For example, some of the monkeys origin might be different than the others and this might be the reason for high levels of hormonal reaction. For example, if some of the monkeys had borned at an island where they rarely encounter danger, the study environment might be a new experience which in turn increases their reaction.

Second study presented as evidence is the increased reaction of human first borns after absence of a parent. The study lacks the clearity on what constitutes a stimuli and does all the first born humans show the same hormonal pattern to the range of different stimuli. The study only demonstrated first born humans reaction to their parents after an absence period which is a positive stimulation contrary to the first born monkey experiment which uses a negative stimuli such as feer. Therefore there is no distinct relation between studies and each might lead to specific explanations.

Finally, the author ambiguously attributes first-time mothers high level of cortisol levels to the first-born monkeys high cortisol levels. However there is no information on are the monkeys in two distinct studies have a mother-child relation therefore relating them would be a very hurried interpretation. The high cortisol levels of first time mother monkeys might also be a consequence of a first time experience.

To conclude, the studies mentioned are open to various distinct interpretation due to the lack of connection between them and their inherent flaws. If the study were conducted on a broader sample size, on a controlled environment where we have the tract of each mother-child pair and knowledge on characteristics of the monkeys, the interpretation might be correct. However as they stand, high cortisol level might be a product of first time encounter of a situation or a reaction special to stimuli considered.