Some undergraduate students follow a course of study designated to develop general knowledge and reasoning ability. Other follow the course of study to learn specific skills with practical application

Studying has significantly impacted our lives. It widens our knowledge and broadens our horizons. Knowledge acquisition tremendously enhances our opportunities in a future career. Some people agree with the notion that undergraduate students should study a curriculum that improves general knowledge, critical thinking, and reasoning ability while other people disagree with this idea. From my personal perspective, I strongly agree that students should choose a syllabus that increases their basic cognition and understanding of the subject of study. I feel this way for a few reasons.

First and foremost, In our contemporary era, The market is in demand for people who based their knowledge on facts and reality. Good Job and career development opportunities are the ultimate goals for any young man or woman. To achieve these goals, undergraduate should attend courses about general topics because these courses are informative and will teach them about how to face real-life situations and overcome critical problems. For example, 10 years ago, when I was an undergraduate at Baghdad University I signed up for computer class to improve my general knowledge on how to use a computer since computers and technology were not available in my home country. The computer class was very useful and informative for me because it taught me how to use word documents and excel sheets. I learned how to type my essays on word documents, insert my data on excel sheets, and also write my mathematical equations and solving problems while brainstorming. I found the class important because the teacher started with us from a beginner level and developed our thorough knowledge and comprehension accordingly. Consequently, after graduation, I was able to work as an administrator in a well- Known engineering and construction company and that was the start of my career development.

Second, by enrolling to basic classes, the student will be able to determine what career he/she would like to pursue in the future. The students will have general ideas about a variety of subjects. Consequently, they will be able to decide their majors. Many undergraduates who attended study courses to increase their overall understanding of a study material were successful in choosing a field that matches their interests and willingness. On the other hand, undergraduate students who lack both general understanding of a subject of study and the ability to question themselves about things that are happening around them will definitely drop their majors and jump from one major to another. As we can see in this case students are struggling to find what they like and what they are good at because they do not have the essential knowledge and the general understanding. For this reason, study courses are beneficial for students to get the knowledge required and to choose a prospective career or field of study.

In conclusion, It is important for students to acquire knowledge and reasoning ability through attending courses during early years of education because it increases the student's opportunity to find a decent job in future and it paves the path for the juniors to select the majors of their interest and determine their sphere.