Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better?

In my opinion is better to get independence from our parents as soon as possible. Some people say they need a little more time to decide what is better for them, and I think that as soon as they decide, they should try the world on their own.

As an example, I can mention one of my friends, she got into an university in another city and she could have gone to live with her brother but she decided she wasn’t prepared yet, she wanted to stay with her family for longer and ended up staying at home. In her opinion, it was a good decision because she said she wouldn’t be able to face the responsibilities of being an adult. But because of that reason, she should have at least tried.

In my case, I think I’m prepared to live by myself, I know it will be a challenge but it will also be a great opportunity to mature, to know more about myself and how I act when having to pay bills and to buy groceries for the house. It will also be a greater challenge living in another country, but learning other’s cultures will only make this experience richer.

My dad, as another example, left his house when he was 17. He went to follow his dreams of being a police officer, so he went to the police academy. He always says that it was a period of growth for him, and he doesn’t regret his decision because he learned a lot about himself and about others.

I conclude by saying that I believe it’s best to leave the parents’ home as soon as possible. In my friend’s case, I still think that she should have tried to live in another city, it would be a big opportunity of knowledge for her. I am excited to leave my parent’s nest and experience the world with my own eyes.