Some young people (14-18) tend to divide their free time to participate in several activities, such as competitive sports, piano, and dance classes. Others prefer to focus on one activity. Which one do you think is better?

In today's world, the way every individual spends his/her time plays a pivotal role in their future and welfare. While some may think youth should invest their energy and time mastering one skill and activity, I subscribe to the opposing view that it is far better for young people to be engaged in more than one activity. First, it will help them to develop various talents, and second, in this way, they can have a richer, more stress-free, and memorable younghood.

Firstly, by participating in various activities, young can develop talents and expand their abilities in a real-world situation. When youth are given the chance to participate in a wide and different range of activities, they are more likely to find their passion and inner abilities. Therefore, they will try to set their goals based on these abilities, and also, they will have a clearer vision of their goal and who they want to present in the community/life. Because their goal and future plans are made upon a deeper knowledge of themselves and their personality, they will have lower chances of regretting the path they choose. At the time when one is unsure of his/her talents, he/she can attend music, basketball, and painting classes to figure out in what way he/she is gifted and exceptional. Talented and passionate people are more likely to succeed in their jobs. For instance, Roger Federer is one of these people that finally found out Tennis is his gift. On the other hand, when someone just tries a single activity, she/he may conclude that it will lead to their success and happiness because they have not tried other things. Despite the fact that they will become experts sooner and faster, later, when they come to understand their real abilities, they miss and regret the past time.

Secondly, trying different classes and skills can help young people to experience a rich and diverse moment, as well as, relaxed time. By participating in a variety of activities, the young can get acquainted with many people of the same age and become more mature. In this process, they will build confidence and soft skills, as well as experience new events that will make them flexible and patient. Later, these skills can help them become a more beneficial person at work. In addition, since they are not focused on just one thing, and are given the chance to take their time, they feel less pressured and stressed about choosing their objective in life. In contrast, young ones that just spend their youth on merely one thing, are less experienced leading them to be concerned and worried about whether they chose the right thing or not. They are more likely to define their existence and life on the single thing at which they are good; hence, when they are tired of it, or when they fail at it, they will lose their interest in living.

In conclusion, although there are benefits to both participating in single or several activities, in my opinion, being able to take part in different activities will open far better happenings, as well as opportunities for young people. First, they will get to know their talents and themselves from various aspects. Second, they will have a more relaxed, happier time while getting mature and experienced during their youth. Is not it what every young wishes for?