Someone thinks that scores should be the sum total of the scores of many assignment while others think that the scores should be the results of 1 or 2 exams. Which view do you agree with and why?

Students’ grades can reflect how their learning situation recently. Therefore, some teachers prefer to sum the scores of many assignments. Other believes that the scores should be result of one or two exams. In my opinion, the scores should be sum of the scores of assignments.

First of all, if schools sum the scores of many assignments to be final scores, students will treat assignment seriously on their daily time. Some students do not treat their assignments seriously and they even copy their homework from others. If the final scores be sum of the scores of their daily assignments, they will pay attention on their tasks, which can beneficial for their study. For example, after our teachers add the scores of assignments in our final scores, most of the classmates make their effort to finish their homework.

In addition, if final scores be result of one or two exams, it is unfair for some students. That is because exams cannot always reflect true scores of students with some special situation. For example, some students may have a cold during those days, which they have crucial exams. Or some of them may too nervous so that they do less well than usual. Besides, some students cheat during the exams, like copying papers from others or to plagiarize from textbooks. Therefore, that is not fair for students who are treat exams seriously.

Admittedly, it can bring a lot work for teachers to sum much homework of every student. Most teachers are too busy during their daily time, they are responsible for bringing knowledge to students and their homework correcting. Therefore, it is impossible for teachers to sum the whole homework of every student. I suggest that the final scours should be result of some scores of homework and one exam. This way can not only relieve teachers’ pressure, but also improve students’ study.

All in all, compared with exams, summing the scores of many assignments are more beneficial for students. So I believe that students’ scores should be sum of the scores of assignments.