Sometimes we are assigned to work in a group on a project. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The group will be helped more by person who will be willing to do what other group members want than by person who often strongly insists that things should be done in a way that is different from what the group wants to do.

In this social world, working in a group is a common affair that people do in order to provide a better outcome. In this regard, some people might think that members of the group who follow groupthink are far way helpful than the members who believe in debating on decisions the other members make to do, and the others hold the opposite view. This author is with the latter idea due to two main reasons which will be demonstrated in the following essay.

To begin with, being on the idea of persisting to oppose with the majority’s way of thinking would lead into a conflicting situation in which every person would find the courage of defending their own opinion resulting in high efficiency of the final decision. In other words, when someone in the group opposes with decisions proceeding, she actually invites the other members into a challenging debate; as they realize an opinion is getting in the way of the dominant decision, they motivate to share their own belief because they think that it is the best chance to participate in the decision-making process and be an influence rather than obeying others’ perspectives. As a result, more useful ideas would make the unanimous decision much efficient. To illustrate, I have been working in a programming company for five years. Once, we had a very important meeting on a related project, which supposed to play a pivotal role in the success or failure of the company. Since everybody needed to be accurate about every idea he wanted to come up with, thus, the majority just did not give any opinion. The renowned members, however, shared their ideas. When the head assistant wanted to finalize the contract, one of the colleagues raised his hand and opposed to the decision had been made respectfully. At first, other members tried to convince him that it is the most effective decision, but, as the debate progressed, other participants changed their mind and tried to assert what they really thought. Finally, we changed the contract based on new and rational ideas. After a while, we realized that had not our friend persisted in his own view, we could have ended up in bankruptcy.

Furthermore, the intervention of a member in a group project would result in high productivity due to overlooking the potential problems. To clarify, working in teamwork somehow blinds the most group members’ eyes into consequences or possible problems of a consensus made by the majority. Critical thinking of a member, however, would alert others to either come up with a rational answer for so-called member, or be convinced that there is a problem, thereby resolving the plausible issues. Thus, by tackling down the probable problems, the productivity of the final decision would raise.

To sum up, when working together on a program, individuals who criticize the other members’ notions are far way helpful; they contribute into not only higher efficiency but also elevated productivity of the ultimate result of a project.