Students at universities often have the choice of places to live. They may choose to live in university dormitories, or they may choose to live in apartments in the community. Compare the advantages of living in the university housing with the advantages of living in an apartment in the community. Where would you prefer to live? Give reasons for your preference.

Although some students may prefer to live off-campus because of advantages like privacy and the chance to relate with local communities that comes with it, I prefer to live in the university dormitory because of the following reasons.

First, there is no need to travel down to campus every day and one would have the opportunity to get to classes -especially early morning classes- earlier than those who live in apartments that are off-campus. For instance, if a person who reside on campus and a person who resides on the community leave their respective apartments at the same time, it is quite impossible for the person who leaves off-campus to get to the class earlier than the one who resides on campus. Therefore, it is easier to get to campus events earlier, without unnecessary waste of time, if one resides in the university hostel. So, the chance to safe some minutes every day instead of waiting such time in transit makes me prefer the idea of living on campus.

In addition, I believe it is better to live on campus because it is not as expensive as living in apartments outside the university campus. This is because the university dormitories are generally much cheaper than similar apartments off campus. Apart from that, one has to spend money every day one needs to come on campus on transportation. The accumulation of these transport fees and the extra amount spent on accommodation makes it more expensive to live in the community rather than in university dormitories. For example, during my days as an undergraduate, I lived off-campus during my final year at my alma mater. During this period, I had to set aside a certain amount of money for transport to the university and also from the university back to my place of abode. This made my strained financial status even more precarious; so I had to move back to the university the following year because of these little additional expenses. On that note I am against the idea of living outside the university campus especially foe someone who is not financially buoyant.

In conclusion, I prefer living in university dormitories to living in apartments of campus because living in the university saves time and makes one get to classes earlier, and it is also less expensive than living off-campus.