Students in a university club want to help others, but they can only choose one project a year, which one of the following is the best?

-help those students in a nearby primary school with reading and mathematics;

-help people who cannot afford to build or rent a home to build a house;

-visit and assist elderly people with daily tasks.

Taking part in a specific club in the college, every member of this group should assist others who are in need, such as the academy, sports and so on. Someone holds the view that it is reasonable for university students to help the poor build apartments, while others assist that taking care of the old is the most important task. However, as far as I am concerned, college students should give priority to teaching children from a nearby primary school with verbal and math.

To start with, such a choice is convenient and practical for college students. For one thing, they do not need to travel a long distance to a primary school for more than 1 hour, which saves a lot of valuable time. For another thing, since college students usually have a strong background in reading and quant, by holding classes for primary students, they can cope with it easily and efficiently. What is more, unlike professional teachers, those college students are familiar with the children and know their preferences. For example, last term, as the leader in a math club, one of the crucial missions for the club was to assist primary students to solve math problems and check their homework. By doing so, those younger students corrected their mirrors and improved their mathematic ability. Therefore, this plan paves the way for both college students to impart knowledge and primary students to acquire useful knowledge.

Furthermore, it is not realistic for college students to construct a house for those who are in need. To be more specific, in order to build a reliable house, workers should have relative professional skills and experiences about architecture. By contrast, it is more likely that students in a university club come from other majors like finance, history or computer science, which have nothing to do with construction. What is worse, even if the club is consists of students from architecture or related majors, they indeed do not have enough experience and courage to support this project since all the knowledge they obtain from the classes is just the theory. Hence, this plan cannot be effective because of these drawbacks.

Admittedly, with more and more elderly people nowadays, it is somewhat necessary to look after them, such as cooking a meal, repairing some furniture and accompanying them in one’s spare time. However, since the adults have the responsibility to achieve these tasks, the positive effects of this choice are outweighed by those of helping students from primary schools.

In a nutshell, they are very reasons to believe that it is most significant for college students to

offer basic courses like reading and math to primary students.