take a gap year?

There are no certain rules that ask students to straightly enter university after they graduated from high school. Some students might take a year off to do something that he or she thinks is meaningful. In my opinion, I will encourage students to take a gap year.

To begin with, it’s believed that many students left no stone unturned to study in high school, meaning that they probably didn’t have enough time to relax or have fun. Therefore, I think that it will be appropriate for students to spend a year doing something fun and releasing their pressure. For example, they can travel around the world, and visit some famous attractions. Since there normally is no pressure during the trips, they can comfortably enjoy it. They can recharge themselves and be ready for the next stage of their life. Therefore, taking a gap year can be conducive to students, physically as well as mentally.

Second, not only can students have fun on the above-mentioned trips, but they can gain some experience as well. When they arrive in different countries, they can learn about local cultures, history, and countries' features. Furthermore, they can also meet different people having different perspectives. Students can even interact with them, sharing ideas with each other. Accordingly, there are plentiful things that students can do on a trip and all can broaden their horizons.

Last but not least, there is another way that students can acquire experience. Students can go to work. In the professional field, students need to learn how to be responsible and how to work with their co-workers. In addition, my personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in college, I took an internship at a computer company since I majored in computer science. During my internship, I learned much practical knowledge such as how to make computers function which I think is more useful. I’m not saying that the knowledge that we get in college is meaningless, but I believe that they are inclined to be theoretical which we might not use a lot in our work. For instance, I barely used calculus in my internship, but it was the required course in my major. As a result, I strongly believe that the practical experience and knowledge that students absorb in the work can benefit their future careers.

To summarize, from what I’ve mentioned above, it will be reasonable for students to take a year off after their high school graduation. They can restore their energy and also accumulate experience so that they can be prepared for further challenges.