Teachers should be paid at least as much as doctors, lawyers or business leaders are paid.

Nowadays, the quality of education has become the top concern of modern citizens. However, people hold different opinions toward the issue that whether teachers should be paid at least as much doctors, lawyers or business leaders are paid. As far as I am concerned, teachers should be paid equally or more than other elite people are paid.

To begin with, paying more for teachers can contribute to the development of education. To be more specific, high salary will motivate teachers’ enthusiasm and attract more talents. According to a recent research conducted by the State Education Bureau, more than 60% of teachers changed their career after teaching for 10 years because of the low salary. They are going to manage their own business, do the marketing job of some companies or even go abroad to learn more skills. The more specific data shows that teachers’ average annual salary reaches 15,000 dollars, which is only half of lawyers’. Undoubtedly, everyone pursues the high quality of life, which means more money we earn, happier our life will be. Therefore, it is significant to promote the salary level of teachers. By doing this, more talents will devote themselves to teaching career, and thus, enhancing the development of education.

Additionally, teachers can cultivate more excellent talents with high salary. With the fierce competition of modern society, it seems urgent that teachers should learn more to face the difficulty of teaching. That is to say, teachers have to pay more than before to improve their abilities. Take my aunt Jenny as an example, she is an English teacher of high school, who is 35 years old. However, she still keeps on learning the translation, the complicated grammar and writing skills by studying in Peking university as a master with a major in English literature. She feels stressed out as more and more students have auxiliary classes, which makes her teaching harder. As a result, she has to learn more to keep pace with students and teach better, and all of these will cost a lot of money. A normal teacher can not afford it totally. Only when the salary rises can teachers afford to take part in the advanced courses, which will certainly help students learn more knowledge. Therefore, I firmly support that rising the salary of teachers is beneficial for both teachers and students.

Admittedly, it sounds reliable that teachers are paid less than doctors or lawyers because they do less work and make less contributions. However, the work of teachers is tiring than before as the education of children has become the top priority of the society. More and more families put emphasis on their children, so teachers should be more professional and hardworking. In this way, teachers bear more responsibilities than doctors or lawyers. So after contemplating all the discussions above can we maintain that teachers deserves high salary.

To conclude, after this thorough analysis, I am confident to draw the conclusion that teachers should be paid at least as much as doctors, lawyers or business leaders are paid.