Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past

It is hard to deny that technology provides much convenience in searching for information, which leads impressionable people to generate the view that technology promotes children's creativity. However, such a statement suffers from logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as efficiency, interpersonal relationship, and dependence are concerned, I firmly hold that the rapidly developing technology has weakened children's creativity.

First and foremost, while children are immersed in technology's joy, their efficiency is lower, as many different kinds of information received from technological products will divert their attention away. Meanwhile, every app on the phone wants to send users notifications. It will be great if they all have something useful to share, improving working efficiency. Unfortunately, most of them do not convey practical information but only contribute to making people tap icons with red dots all day long like a digital version of whack-a-mole to eliminate all the notifications. Not to mention that although these technologies make users feel good for a moment, they will finally become anxious, cause cravings, and even end in withdrawal from their current tasks soon afterward. Suppose that people check their smartphones so many times per day, it is hard to be efficient in creative work when they need to stop to look at their phone every a few minutes.

Furthermore, children have substituted technology for relationships and real conversations, indicating that technology slows their creative development speed. Take the case of Yu Hua, who is a famous Chinese writer that created many novels with a graphic description of a past era about thirty years ago. Once in an interview, he pointed out that his novels can be mirrors of the historical period because he spent much time interacting face-to-face with different people active in the past ages playing different roles in society before creating his novels. Had it not been for Yu Hua having conversations with those people to stimulate writing inspiration, he would never create excellent novels that reflect history to help readers understand past events.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that technology makes it easy to find a solution to many problems, reducing the degree of difficulty in creativity. Ironically, the convenience of technology has allowed children to solve previously insurmountable problems at a fundamental level. This smart technology has made people lose independent thinking because they are now highly dependent on it for even the most basic things. The more people hand over to machines what makes them unique as humans(their ability to think, process, and make decisions), the less we stretch and grow our capacity to do those things. Therefore, children's dependence on technology obstructs their creativity.

In a nutshell, I maintain that technology limits children's creative potential. Admittedly, as my favorite quote from Penelope Fitzgerald goes, it is interesting to note that everyone has a different take on the world, a different opinion, and given the same inputs have completely different outputs, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.