The extended family grandparents cousins aunts and uncles is less important now than it was in the past

It is hard to deny that these relationships between the various members of the extended family(grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) seem to be fading in today's world, which leads impressionable people to generate the idea that extended family is less important than it was in the old days. However, such a statement suffers from logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as a sense of belonging, companionship, and stability are concerned, I firmly hold that the importance of extended family is still unneglectable.

First and foremost, an extended family provides its members with a strong sense of belonging, as it can promote building and maintaining the family bonds. Meanwhile, families who are a part of extended families experience emotional bonding as long as they live in the same place. Not to mention that people living further apart might not achieve this bonding while living with an extended family encourages you to spend more time with them and develop a strong family bond with all the family members. Having an extended family around gives children comfort and company and make them know where they belong, so they do not feel alone even if their parents are not with them.

Furthermore, the fact that having an extended family under the same roof means all the family members can get time to spend with their loved ones indicates one benefit that extended family provides is companionship. Take the case of me, whose family lives in northwest China, and when I moved to the southeast, I did not realize just how much I missed the benefits of the family society I gave up. I had my own family there, and it was when I moved back to the northwest that I realized what I had given up. Had it not been for leaving my hometown to leave alone and being lonely there, I would never place a high value on good extended family relationships.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that these fading relationships between the various extended family members result from choices that societies make in our changing world - in other words, the extended family is no longer important nowadays. Ironically, the decline of extended family does not represent the decline of its importance, so long as extended family support is still the most generous help. Having an extended family saves childcare support and encourages children to spend some quality time with their grandparents. Another support from living with an extended family is that it reduces the family's financial strain as it is a more affordable option. Therefore, since the extended family supports its members so much, no one can deny its high importance as ever.

In a nutshell, I maintain that the extended family still plays an important role in modern society as it was. Admittedly, as my favorite quote from James Madison goes, as long as the reason of man continues fallible, different opinions will be formed, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.