TPO 54 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state sponsored Olympic teams Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It is hard to deny that arts are treasures of national cultures and the cornerstone of human artistic civilization, and such a fact leads impressionable people to generate the opinion that governments should give priority to the arts instead of athletes. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and we should examine it meticulously. As far as feasibility, finance and efficiency are concerned, I firmly believe that governments should divert their investment to athletics.

First and foremost, athletics are more feasible than arts in promoting national quality, as only if the sports are paid attention by nation and citizens,the country would develop better with their strong, healthy people. Meanwhile, if the government would like to cultivate athletics such as sportsmen from Olympic teams, the influence of a gold medalist is enormous. Not to mention that sportsmanship could be a good mentor for teenagers telling them while facing difficulties to overcome them with the following virtues: diligence, perseverance and strong belief.

Furthermore, the fact that compared with art exhibitions, sports competitions generally appeal to a broader audience and attract more social attention, leading to more financial return indicates that governments should allocate funds to athletics. Take the case of the Olympics, which symbolizes freedom and equality, can get significant publicity. Hence, companies all over the world are willing to pay millions of sponsorships to publicize their products by providing athletes with sportswear and the most advanced sports equipment. Even after the Olympics, it is very likely to bring more economic benefit to these companies in the future. Had it not been for the emphasis on athletics, allowing governments to organize a great sporting event, like the Olympics, the organizers and companies would miss the chance to make such remarkable economic results.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that investment in arts could bring long-term impact, is the most efficient way to improve the quality of national cultural and spiritual lives. Ironically, it will also take a long time to show results of reflection from artistic investments. People may wonder if the money, as well as the time, would be worth to spend on arts. In contract, compared to arts, the effect of sports activities would be apparent in a relatively short period. The athletics fund of the government could encourage people to engage in sports activities, making them physically strong first because a healthy body is a basis for people to carry out all activities. Citizens input themselves better into study and work, create more economic value, and improve the nation’s overall fighting capacity with a healthy body. Therefore, supporting athletics is the proper solution to efficiency in national quality enhance.

In a nutshell, I maintain that athletics require more budge from governments. Admittedly, as my favourite quote from Penelope Fitzgerald goes, it is interesting to note that everyone has a different take on the world, a different opinion, and given the same inputs have completely different outputs, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.