Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two or five) should not be allowed

It is true that television highly affects our minds, especially advertising. When it comes to this topic many people assume that television advertising directed toward young children under the age of five should be prohibited. As for me, I cast doubts on this argument's validity. Thus, in my own opinion, advertising directed towards small kids should be allowed for a few reasons. First, because it is not as harmful for kids as it is considered to be, and second, it can be very useful for parents.

Some people believe that advertising influences a child's mind in a wrong way. According to this opinion, kids see things that some companies offer to them on television and start to ask their parents to buy it. However, not every parent can afford such purchases. As small children do not think about money they begin to insist, cry and behave badly. Besides, many assume that television advertising may teach kids wrong things. Even though I concede that this argument is reasonable I still do not agree that advertising directed toward kids should not be shown on TV. In fact, kids aged under five do not usually pay much attention to advertising which they see and, moreover, do not analyze it. Usually they do not keep in mind for a long time what they get from television. After all, at this stage of childhood it is parents who decide what their young children should watch on television. Thus, they can simply switch off a TV or change a channel when such advertising appears.

In addition, advertising can be very useful for parents. It is a way to show what products are good for their kids, what is new in this industry in order to make a process of raising easier. For example, I have a friend with a small baby and she says that television advertising helps her a lot. In her words, she does not know anybody with small kids to get an advice from and her own mom is very old-fashioned. As my friend does not go out that much, turns out that Internet and television are only ways for her to get news about products for children.

To sum it up, even though there are arguments to be made against television advertising directed towards young children, I strongly believe that it should be allowed because it can be very helpful for parents.