TELEVISION ADVERTISING TOWARD YOUNG CHILDREN

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Television advertising has a great influence nowadays. This influence is a double edged weapon. However, in my point of view, i believe that advertising directed toward young children has a massive negative impact concerning the increasing appeal to toys, junk food.

First of all, television advertising put the lights on buying different products and thereby it encourages young children to get attached to those products and encourage their parents to purchase them. As a result, this produces children who will become consumers in the future. For example, when Pokemon's company launches a campaign for it's products; toys, therefore those young children are greatly influenced and insist on buying those toys.

In addition, television advertising that makes children opt for junk food, candies and all of those unhealthy stuff. Those companies' main goal is to gain more money , they don't really care about the child's health. For example, as I work as a dentist, i am exposed to massive numbers of children. These days children eat huge amounts of sweets and junk food that leads to cavities in their teeth at very young age. Consequently, children suffer from losing their front teeth at very young age due to the carious lesions which affects their self confidence, speech and nutrition.

Moreover, younger children do not differentiate between exaggeration and reality , reality and imagination. If "Red bull gives you wings" then children will believe that and act upon that. For example, one of my cousins saw an advertisement for a jacket that helps you fly, and then we found the young boy insisting to buy this jacket and after he managed to convince his parents to buy it, he tried flying with the jacket and was disappointed that the advertisement was a fraud. On top of that, Sweden and Norway banned advertising directed to children less than 12 years which gives a great support to my point of view.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that television advertising directed towards young children should be banned. However, not only it is the government's responsibility, but also it is parents' duty to control what their children watch.