Though modern agricultural practices damage the environment, feeding the world’s growing population is more important than protecting against environmental damage.

The importance of agriculture as opposed to the environment for a country raises much public attention in recent decades when agricultural practices bring much damage to the environment. Some experts claim that agriculture is of more significance as feeding the world’s growing population is more important than protecting against environment damage, while others hold a different opinion. As far as I am concerned, the latter view seems to align more with my view. Here are my reasons.

First, the environment problems are so serious that if they are ignored, there would be no place for human to survive, which makes planting more food meaningless. Water and air pollution, desertification and global warming already have a great influence in our daily life, and even threaten our physical health. As we all know, Beijing, the capital of China, suffers from serious air pollution problems. Exhaust fume from the factory and vehicle emissions make the air full of tiny particles, which once are breathed in by people, pose a potentially high risk to the respiratory system and other internal organs in an irreversible way. When humans even cannot find a clean place to live in, what is the meaning of improving food productivity?

Second, the money needed for solving the environment problems caused by agricultural practices might be far more than the economy value made by all people. Sure, it may seem that the development of industry and agriculture without regard of the environment protection boosts economy for the time being, but eventually, such kind of development has an adverse effect on economy in the long term. Consider a food company as an example. For decades, it was allowed to pour contaminating chemicals into a river, and in this way it earned more profit as well as brought more revenues to the government[In this way. However, those chemicals were toxic, bringing great threat to the fish and plants living in the river and nearby. In order to cope with the water pollution, the government has to put a large amount of investment into the river restoration project. Any kind of development that is not environmentally friendly cause huge financial burden to government in the future.

However, it is not to say that agriculture does not matter. Ensuring that no one would be starved to death is also an important issue to all nations in the world. But one thing needs to be pointed out is that the reason why many people still can not have enough food to eat is not because of the lack of food, but the inefficient food distribution system. An American teenager may have obesity problem while an African kid still suffers from malnutrition. If the food is allocated properly, there should have been no need for improving modern agriculture at the cost of environment.Moreover, with the adoption of new technologies, it is possible that we can develop agriculture in a totally environment friendly way. All that stimulates the government to pay more emphasis on environment protection rather than agriculture.

In conclusion, I believe that compared with agriculture, environment problems should be taken more seriously as it is more intense and is more beneficial to the long-term economy as well.