In times of economic crisis, in which field do you think the government can

cut financial support?

1) Art

2) Scientific research

3) Parks and public gardens

Some people think that when a country faces an economic crisis, the government should cut its financial support for artists. Others disagree and argue that the government should spend less money on scientific research. Still, others claim that disbursing fewer budgets on parks and public gardens is a better option. For me, I maintain that

To begin with, the government should save money when a recession occurs, and cutting down resources on supporting artists helps it save a great deal of money. For instance, during the economic crisis twenty years ago in Taiwan, the Taipei City government stopped wasting 10 million dollars per year supporting young musicians. Similarly, the Kaohsiung City government agreed to not allocate 5% of the total budget assisting average artists in finding a job. As a result, both governments saved nearly 20% of their total budget. On the contrary, the Taichung City government put an end to disbursing money on pruning trees in parks and public gardens. Yet, the city government only saved 1 million dollars per year, because hiring people to do horticulture is overall not expensive.

In addition, the government must emphasize citizens' welfare, but cutting expenses on scientific research might make many residents have less welfare to enjoy. For example, the Taiwanese government stopped spending 200 million dollars on supporting biomedicine researchers during the pandemic. Although the government saved millions of dollars, the development of the domestic Covid-19 vaccine was delayed. Consequently, patients do not have any vaccine to take after being infected with Covid. Contrarily, the Singaporean government allocated less funding to the Art and Music Association. Since the association did not contribute to any public welfare in Singapore, the decision did not impact any aspect of Singapore's general public welfare.

Last but not least, governments have to ensure that all residents are living a happy life during the recession. Nevertheless, not financing parks and gardens makes citizens feel unhappy. Take the Hualien County government as an example. Five years ago, the Hualien City government quitted aiding Mei-Zhou national park's construction. Also, the government cut down 500,000 dollars on hiring volunteers to clean garbage in various gardens and parks. Therefore, citizens do not have any place to relax during the weekend, so depression caused the suicide rate to increase from 0.01% to 0.1%. Two months later, the Hualien County government regretted and reduced the amount of money spent on artists instead. Since most artists got used to living an impoverished life, the decision did not affect their mental health. Three months later, the suicide rate decreased drastically.

In conclusion, I believe that cutting down financial support on art is the best way for the government to overcome an economical crisis. After all, the government must save a great deal of money, focus on the public's health, and make sure that citizens can still live a joyful life during the crisis.