TOEFL 22 October 2016

Some teenagers take part in different kinds of activities such as musical classes, sports classes and so on, but others only focus on one activity which is important to them. Which idea do you support?

Some people think that teenagers can’t handle additional classes and it’s better to concentrate their main activity, while others believe that it is an appropriate idea to have other helpful classes. From my vantage point, teenagers can have other activities along with their main activity because of its some beneficiaries. Not only do they need variety, but also they can benefit from other classes to improve their main activity. I subscribe this way which I will explore in the following essay.

The first exquisite point to mention is that variety is needed not only for teenagers but also all people. If teenagers for example, just do their assignments and they go to their school every day routinely without having any other special activities probably, they will hate from their only activity. According to the many psychological papers and TV programs, it is better to add some colors to our lives and enjoy our lives in order to prevent to be the uniformity situation of life. A vivid example can be shed light on this subject is my own experience. When I was a first-year high-school student, at the first semester I didn’t have appropriate average especially unsuccessful performance in English class. I decided to have additional conversation English class outside from the school. It was a little irrelevant to the topics of English but, I continued it to participate. At the end of the semester, although I have slight improvements in my English grade while in total average my grade was better than the past. Honestly, I think variety helped me increase my scores in the school.

Another reason that deserves some words is that I strongly believe additional activity can help us improve our performance in the main activity. Of course, this is also true for the teenagers. Some classes like sports activities and another ilk cause them have a healthier life and consequently, they will be ready to learn the materials of the school as the main activity. Sometimes, variety can help teenagers to access their goals easily. Being familiar with the other activities, teenagers may decide better and consciously about their future and the major which they want to continue. As an effective example, in the high-school, I continued my English conversation classes. These classes improved my English speaking and also improved my grades in English classes in the second and third year of my high-school. Also, when I attended at the university I chose English teaching as my major because I thought I was talented and I had sufficient background in English. Therefore, the additional class worked well in my life.

To make long story short, I assert that additional classes and activities are useful in the light of the aforementioned reasons. Certainly, additional activities can help teenagers reach their goals.