TOEFL Academic Discussion Writing Question: Grading

In my opinion, students should be given grades. I strongly agree with Jake's idea that grading helps students prepare for situations which they will face in the future and the real world. I'd add that grading is the best method for providing information and feedback that students can use for self-evaluation and growth. From my personal standpoint, students must look at grading as a torch for their performance indicator and use it for improvement. Lila raised the relevant point that grading creates a competitive environment which makes students feel like they are only valued for their academic performance, but she did not mention that the most significant role of students is studying, and they must learn this matter that they will be evaluated for their responsibilities in the real world. For instance, when I was in high school, I did not care about geography because I had the plan to study my major in mathematics however, my grades forced me to take more time on geography, yet this lesson helped me to focus on all side of a situation which I involved with in my career.