TOEFL essay: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People are never satisfied with what they have; they always want something more or something different. Use specific reasons to support your answer.

Essay topics

Mankind is insatiable by nature since the beginning. People -including me sometimes- does not grateful for what they have and wants more in a very covetous way. The things that people want can be vary from food to a land. I strongly believe that this world order will be the same and never going to change. Thus, I agree with the statement and the reasons behind this notion will be explained in this essay.

Initially, I want to draw attention to certain significant points namely, poverty, starvation, and war. All these points and more have been the consequences of the greedy for money of humankind for thousands of years. There are people who can not even find a slice of bread and on the other hand there are people who puts many delicious, untouched food in garbage without a second thought. Many has no ability to empathy. For example, parents who have high life standards raising their children without teaching to share or contentment. Therefore, this chain goes on and on. Since family is the smallest part of the community, I do not think that people in future are going to be more satisfied so the squandering will last forever.

Unsatisfied people always cause a trouble in their homes, schools or in any other community. Their endless needs never ends and eventually they make disgust everyone around them. Let's think about a child who has never troubled to get what he/she want. Every toy or candy/chocolate/food is going to be meaningless for that child over time. Hence, that child would not be able to realize this wrong behavior and furthermore, he/she is always want something more or new again and again. The result is not only causes to waste of money and material but also causes to form a blind character for a child. Whereas, if we think about a kid who could not get what he/she wanted quickly or could not get at all, that kid would know the worth of the things he/she has and be merciful for them. Additionally, some researches showed that, children who has less toys has a better imagination thus they could be more successful in future.

Another thing that makes me tedious is that the plastic surgery craze. I am not agains to it but in last couple of years, plastic surgery become a must for many people because of the new beauty perception. Mostly women do that to look better and and there is no end in this progress. Even there are many news about the terrible and upsetting results of these operations, people insists to do that to themselves because their look does not satisfy them. It is like there is a race. I hope people start to see that there is no point to look the same to be seen beautiful.

In a nut shell, we do the evil to ourselves by being greedy. Asking for more is of course our right however, we must be able to see the limits to be satisfied. Otherwise, we could become an unsatisfied, blind and careless person.