TOEFL Test 1 Writing 2

Which of the following measures would make a city safer?

①Hiring more police officers and getting them properly trained to serve the public

②Increasing the number of rehab facilities to help people quit using illegal drugs

③Improving educational facilities to prevent children from dropping out of school

The three most effective ways to make a city safer for people are enforcing police power, increasing rehab facility facilities and increasing schools to prevent dropouts. Among the three ways, I think the last one will be the best for the city.

Firstly, enriching the student’s knowledge can allow them to protect themselves in the future. By going to school, students not only will learn professional knowledge, but also will learn what’s right and wrong. By doing this, once these students steps into the society, they will be a well-educated people. This can help them defend themselves through most attacks because the citizens will know how to respond to them. And as long as the people are good, the city is good.

Secondly, it will eliminate the problem by it’s source. Face the fact, most cities aren’t safe, not because of outside factors, but the corruption in the city. In the 21st century, terrorists attack and other sort of invasion aren’t very common. What really matters is the small problems such as stealing in the city. By educating more people, we can at least make sure the next generation won’t do these kind of things. Most schools will also open classes about special cases, such as ‘what to do when facing drugs’ which and reinsure the safety.

Some people might say that just stop students from dropping out of school isn’t enough and might not work in a short amount of time. However, the other two ways also has their flaw. The most obvious thing is that the source of the danger is not gone. Arresting some criminals and some dragster isn’t enough. In some ways, school is also a place to prevent the dropouts from causing troubles in the society. Also, comparing the three, reconstructing schools seems to cost the less. Saving money is also important for reconstruction after a big disaster.

All in all, improving the school to have less dropouts seems to be the best choice because it can provide people knowledge how to defend themselves and stop future crimes. The students are often referred as the way of the future, I believe so and letting more people get educated will be a good choice.