TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

Financial allocation is known as an important issue in the policy of universities and colleges pursuing to provide the best conditions for their students. Nowadays, social activities and educational facilities are the two main factors that are supposed to be financed. In my opinion, the economic condition of universities determines whether or not social activities are as important as educational facilities.

First, in modern societies, it is generally accepted that social activities like sports and music groups are as important as other factors like the library facilities. A large amount of expenditure including financial supports like endowment provided by industrial companies or non-profit organizations makes it possible for universities to support students in different aspects of life. The MIT University, for instance, salary, receives more than 14 billion dollars endowment and thus it is capable to provide suitable conditions for competition between students in both educational issues and social activities. The statistics indicate students studying in such good conditions are more successful in their business after graduation.

Second, the lack of financial support or poverty in a more harsh condition is a contributing factor in limitation of developing and advances of universities. Universities and colleges located in developing countries like Iraq in the Middle East, always have to make a hard decision in allocating their limited finance to a wide range of requirement of students. In these harsh condition, the familiar policy is to spend expenditure on educational facilities like hiring professors and building laboratories and libraries. As you can see, the economic status, especially the amount of finance plays a crucial role in the policy of universities and colleges no matter how much social activities are important for students.

In conclusion, unlike some people, who may insist on finding a concrete answer to the question whether educational institutions should support social activities as much as educational facilities, it is my deep conviction that the answer depends upon the economic conditions of institutions.