TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is generally accepted that people tend to make friends and spend their leisure time with them in an intimate relationship. This type of behavior can be obviously observed in all educational institutions and workplaces. The frequent question comes to people's mind is about a decision on whether they should keep their old friends, as a more important relationship, or make new friends. In my opinion, there is no concrete answer to this question because of different conditions.

First, sometimes old friends have advantages outweigh the benefits people may have with their new friends. Generally, people consider different factors like loyalty, honesty, and so on in any relationship with their friends. Obviously, people require enough time to evaluate these factors in their friends' behavior and find a sense of trustworthy. Given this fact, people in harsh conditions often count on their old friends more than new friends. For instance, Larry Page and his classmate, co-founders of Google, are known as close old friends that help each other in difficult situations in their business thanks to their long-standing friendship.

Second, people's personal characteristics are changed due to exposure to different conditions in life and this leads to having different friends in different stages of life. All People find it interesting that they can experience happiness and a good time in presence of their friends. This finding begins when they find their first friends in kindergarten and primary schools. However, the fact is that people have different habits and personal characteristics throughout their life. Therefore, they may find serious conflicts with a friend while they have been the best friend for each other before that. This is a known fact that leads to a change in life and can be described in psychological terms.

In conclusion, unlike this fact that people often have a more intimate relationship with their old friends, it is my deep conviction that making new friends happens inevitably due to the fact that people change in their life and it strongly depends upon the conditions they are exposed to.