TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, computer games are part of everyday routine of children, thus, these games can mold their personality, mood and how they deal with individuals. Some believe that children spending their whole time in playing video games are totally waste of time, but, others have different perspective. In my opinion, computer games has negative effects on the child's well being. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, Teenagers are becoming addicted to computer games, hence, they neglect their overall health. Also, instead of studying and researching for assignments their time is solely being devoted in playing games, therefore, school performance may also suffer, which results in poor grades and dropping in class. My own experience is a compelling example of this. My nephew is addicted to ragnarok game, he just stared at the computer and played for long hours, without anything to eat or drink. His health decline because of this routine, he now suffers from poor eye sight due to excessive exposure to radiation of the computer screen, so, his doctor advised him to wear prescription glasses to correct his eyesight. For this reason, I believe their parents should not let their children to play excessive computer games, due to the negative effects on their overall health will decline.

Secondly, computer games will cause bridge in gap in communication with regards to family and friends. Most young adults are faced with this dilemma, communication became sparsely thin and social skills rapidly declined. Researchers studied this pattern of behavior between age 6- 15 years old, and the results were shocked the world, the findings were children who spends 10 hours a day in computer consoles deprived their selves with emotional support and companion with people around them. In addition, computer gamer's time are wasted, because they allocate their time in non productive activities, activities that are productive are neglected such as good health, communication and social skills. Moreover, developmental delays are predominant in children who are among 3-8 years old, like speech delays occur, typically a 3 year old can talk few words, but, researchers found out that they speech stunted in development because of early exposure to computer games. Accordingly, I think that it is best to not let young children to be allowed computer games because it non productive and can cause developmental delays in children.

In conclusion, I believe that playing computer games is unproductive for children and has negative effects on their health. This is because developmental delay can happened and their health will decline.