TPO 10 Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement Playing computer games is a waste of time Children should not be allowed to play them Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

At present days, various computer games have emerged in the market. A plenty of people hold the view that it is a waste of time to play computer games and children shouldn't be allowed play them.

I do not disagree that being obsessed with computer games are negative to individuals's physical and psychological/mental health.Nevertheless, games are good for adolescences in moderation. It is just a entertainment for people to relax themselves rather than a waste of time. In fact ,there are no differences between playing games and watching TV shows or go to the cinema. Nowadays, teenagers are under great pressure of school work,which make them feel stresses,confused or very upset. Therefore,they need some enjoyment to rid their of depressed sentiments. It is often said,"All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy." Proper relaxation will make people work more efficiently and productively.

As to children,there more reason for them to play games. It is a trend that more and more types and styles game are emerging on the market .Their themes may be around culture,arts,history and so on , which can expand children's interest in these subject. They may reflect phenomenon of present society which can attract children's awareness and profound thinking. And many games are designed to be a auxiliary tool of study. For these reasons, computer games helps children's academic performance.

Furthermore, in the game world, children can associate with more friends, who are not limited to reality world. They can meet people from various ages,job,countries. The diversity of friends allows individuals to expand their mind and horizons. Meanwhile,Playing games improved children's socialization skills.

In a nutshell ,computer games should not be viewed as a things get people indulged nowadays.The waste of time usually is a bias of some people. In turn, games can bring more benefit to us rather than damages.