TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I disagree that it is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

In my opinion, compared to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects, I think specializing in one specific subject is more important.

First, people's energy is limited, so that they cannot pay too much time to too many academic subjects. Even people try to do that, it is not quite possible for them to get very deep knowledge in many subjects. It is easy to know superficial knowledge in those subjects, but it is difficult to get further and profound learning of them. If a person can only get superficial learning about something, then it is not significant.

Further, though a person does not have broad knowledge of many subjects, but if he is specialized in one subject, this is quite useful. Being an expert in one subject is not easy, it requires that the person's persistence in getting profound knowledge and making breakthrough constantly in that field. When he becomes an expert in a certain field, he really will play a very important role in his job or in that field. And in our society, it needs specialists in all kinds of fields instead of people only get shallow knowledge in those fields.

Therefore, being specialized in one subject is more important than having broad knowledge in many subjects.