One of the significant changes that happened in the 20th century and up till now is people immigration to different countries and that change had an impact on their culture. For example some people used to think that extended family is very important in their life due to caring and intemacy between family members. while I believe it can not be generelized to all cases, I tend to disagree on such a view for the following concerns.

First, Economy had an impact on our relationship with the extended family. Back in the days before introducing technology in many aspects of life, economy depended more on humans. That explains why the extended family had to live beside each other and work in agriculture or any other project. It was common to have one project for the whole family. In contrast, Today technology has been introduced in everything such as agriculture, industry and medicine. For example, in agriculture there are machines now that can be used so there is no need to have 30 or 40 people to plant, only few people are needed to operate and supervise the machines. In addition, today due to population growth, there is high competition in almost all the fields, this competition encouraged people to immigrate to a different place looking for more money or a better position, which lead small families to be a part.

Second, Before the wife used to go to work and leave her children with the grand parents or the cousins. Also, the extended family used to help in the house work. But today that has been changed, With the technology and the internet the wife can hire someone to take care of the children or even send them to a day care where they can learn different skills. About the house work, It is getting easier every day, For example, now there is a vacum that can clean the house by itself without any human intervention. In the past also, the extended family used to help in the education process which is easier nowadays with the internet, the student can search any information without asking other members of the family.

Third, I think it is important to live far from the extended family to maintain some privacy for the small family. In the past, the whole big family used to gather for dinner every night and hear about everyone's problems and they usually interfere out of love which can be distracting for that person. I think to take a good decision, the person need to have some time to think and only share his or her concern with the close family members.

In conclusion, The extended family are special to us due to their caring and the good time we spend together. However, Today with the hard economy and technology that makes our life easier, I agree that being far from the extended family is more important to have a healthy life style with the small family.