TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The human life has changed over years and this change has affected the personal contexts of lives. In the past, the extended family used to be a significant aspect of people's life. However, I believe that the importance of such family has faded in present years.

To begin with, the advent of civilization and the expansion of cities have led to long distances between each city areas. This feature decreased the possibility of relatives to live closely together. My parents' experience is a good example of this. During 1980s, when they were children, they lived in the downtown of Tabriz city in a compact region where their grandparents as well as aunts and uncles were all in an accessible distance of them. Thus, they spend a great amount of time with their cousins and close relatives. A few years later, Tabriz started to extend in each pole of it, the east side of it expanded toward Tehran and the west side became closer to Marand city. As the result, nowadays, we are living so far away from my aunts and grandparents and it takes one to two hour to reach them in a relatively non-crowded day. That's because we even do not know some of new members of our great extended family.

Second, in today's life, the more emphasis of the communities is on individuality. People prefer to make their own decisions by learning from their mistakes instead of consulting with relatives. For instance, I remember watching a movie named God father. This classic movie was based on a relatively true life of an Italian family lived in United States about sixty years ago. In this movie, all the members of a huge family including grandparents and their offspring and grandchildren lived in a common palace. Therefore, in a such environment, they had to talk about every small detail of their decisions with the older family members. In contrast, currently, the children learnt to be more independent and prefer not the engage even their own parents in their future plans and are consequently became more individualized.

In conclusion, I am of the conviction that people do not prioritize the extended families of their own in recent lives. That's because of the expansion of city areas and the significance of individuality in today's life.