TPO 15 independent writing-Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at a young age.

Having a correct attitude on money is related to the quality of our lives. Many parents believe that children don’t know how to manage money. Therefore, they will take away their lucky money from Chinese New Year to avoid kids wasting it. However, in my opinion, parents should train their children on managing their own money at a young age. In the ensuing essay, my perspective will be substantiated by underlying reasons.

First of all, people’s value system on money is built when ones are young. The way we spend our money is highly related to how we spend money in the future. For example, I used to spend all my allowance every month. I had never had an idea to save it like my sister, who tend to save a little money each month. Until now, my sister and I are earning money for ourselves but the way we spend money have never changed. We all know that it is safe to have some saving, and not to waste money on things we don’t really need. However, It’s very difficult for me to change the way on managing money which I learnt as a kid.

Secondly, children can have more choices of their life if they can control their own money. To take myself as an example. When I was in elementary school, I don’t have my own money. When I want to buy anything, I have to discuss with my parents to let them allow me to. Accordingly, I can’t decide which clothes I want to buy or which places I want to go with my friends. Besides, sometimes parents don’t realize what are popular among children and what children want. If I can have dominance of my own life as children, I believe my childhood can be happier.

Last but not least, learning how to manage money can assist children on making choices in limited sources. With limited money, children should find out what they really want to spend money on and to sacrifice things they can’t afford. It is a very good training for children on weighting the pros and cons.

In conclusion, I believe that children should have chances on managing their money at a young age because it will influence their value of money, their position of control and their ability on decision making.