TPO-15 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at a young age. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In this progressive and sophisticated world, one of the most important parts of being a parent is being aware of how to raise your children to be successful in their future life. Some people are inclined to teach their children how to manage their money in order to become financially responsible in the future. However, others are against this idea. As far as I am concerned, I am of the opinion that there is no need for young children to learn how to manage their own money. In the following paragraph, I will delve into some reasons and examples justifying my point of view.

The first noteworthy reason coming to my mind is that childhood is an important period for children to learn new skills, develop and flourish their latent talents in a wide range of fields such as music, art, literature, and formal education. During this time children are curious about thousand things which stimulate them to be involved in activities to develop their potentials. Learning to become financially responsible has various aspects which are extremely time-consuming processes. As a result, they are not able to devote their valuable time to other important issues in their life. Hence, by occupying their mind about money, parents ruin all of their giftedness. For instance, countless scientific findings have shown that children from families that are spending too much time discussing money generally have weak academic performances.

Another exquisite point to be mentioned is that this approach towards money makes children materialistic individuals which brings about adverse consequences in the future. Earning more money is not only joyful for adults but also for children. This way encourages them to try to save as much as money they can. Without any doubt, since they are not enough mature to realize whether their action is moral or immoral, as a consequence, this voracious for more money may motivate them to deceive their peers to earn money, or force their parents to give them money as an incentive for getting high grades at School. All these lead children to be money-oriented. Ultimately, this feature has grown inside them as they become grown-up. For instance, we can see many affluent people who do not care about the poverty and the financial problems of other people, if we evaluate their behavior we can easily find out this behavior stem from being money-oriented during their childhood.

To summarize, from what has been discussed above, it is crystal clear that tutoring children to manage their money at young age is not logical and proper. The first drawback of this attitude is it gives rise to wasting their precious time to develop their gifts and skills in useful areas. Besides, this way makes children money-oriented which has negative outcomes in the future.