TPO-16 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everyone has its own preference to travel. Some people chooses to travel alone because they think it’s more fun to explore places according to one’s time availability and choice of places. On the other hand, some people think it better to travel in group led by a tour guide. In my opinion it is far better to travel in group for many following reasons.

First, travelling in group is more cost effective than travelling alone. When one is travelling with many other people then all the expenses such as food, cab fare etc is equally divided among everyone, which makes the trip affordable. I can say this strongly by my own experience. I went on a trip last year to Jaipur in group of twenty people; we hired one local mini bus with a driver along with a local tour guide as well. It was a trip of ten days and so we had booked a five star hotel altogether. In these ten days we visited to all the famous and significant places there and our guide explained the importance of each and everything in detail beautifully. At the end of the trip when I calculated the total money spent on the trip, I was astonished as it was very cheap. This made me realized the benefits of travelling in group as I could have a wonderful trip and still saved money which I later spent on shopping.

Second, traveling in group is also more fun and safe than traveling alone. Many people like me who does not like to stay alone as they get bored, also prefer travelling with many people as it enables a person to enjoy and doesn’t let me feel lonely. Also, travelling alone is not always safe as any miss happening can occur anywhere. Nowadays, there is so much crime, every day we see people get robbed or being killed for money. I am able to recall one incidence that happened with one of my friends. He went to Agra all alone last summer; he had lot of cash with him. Somehow a local person there came to know about it and he started following him. One day when he was coming back to hotel in the night, this thief not just looted him but also injured him brutally. That is why; I believe it is not at all safe to go alone on a trip.

TO recapitulate, although everyone has their own preferences and reasons to choose a particular mode of travelling as everything in this world has its own pros and cons. Likewise, I admit that when a person is going alone then he/she has a lot more freedom, one can go anywhere any time and spend as much time as he/she wants. But if someone who has limited finances and still wants to see incredible places then traveling in group is a good option.