TPO-17 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The advertisement has always been an integral part of selling and companies pursue more efficient advertising methods to reach new customers and also more profit. There exist a contentious argument that most advertisements are constructed so that targeted products appear better than what they really are. In my opinion, this statement could be valid in most cases while there are also some advertisements that can increase companies’ sale by depicting truth or even the existing defects of a product.

First, it is generally accepted that the economic growth of business and companies are heavily reliant upon the amount of their selling. As a result, they prefer some type of advertising which leads to making a more fascinating perspective about the quality of their products among customers. It can be easily observed that most advertisement focus on advantages of merchandises and this policy itself makes goods seem far more reliable, which is an attraction for customers. For instance, companies which produce electric cars equipped with Lithium-ion batteries, only hype how clean the automobile is or how it helps to decrease air pollution. Nevertheless, is there any point in those advertisements about the lack of efficiency? or even some long-term adverse effects of electric vehicles due to chemical materials used in their batteries.

Second, the increasing knowledge of advertising makes businessmen and entrepreneurs that exaggeration in advertising and lie about their products may lead to serious adverse effects on their reputation. Therefore, companies today attempt to depict both advantages and disadvantages of their products and after that convince their customers that the benefits of a product outweigh its disadvantages. This type of advertisement can be presented in an infomercial on television or the YouTube channel of companies. For instance, Apple Company, after mass production of iPhone X and its distribution in the market, found that this product has some software/graphical problem in showing notifications associated by iMessage. After some media coverage by different news agencies, Apple released a new advertising of iPhone X with a sense of humor about that software bug.

In conclusion, I subscribe to this opinion that most advertisements make a better viewpoint for products but this is an indisputable fact that companies also benefit other types of advertisements which are more realistic.