TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is generally accepted that the behavior of people, especially students is highly influenced by other people, which is known as social influence. An interesting question is whether students are less influenced by their friends than by their teachers. In my opinion, although it is a difficult work to provide a concrete answer to the question, it would be more straightforward to discuss factors are involved in it.

First, the friendship between students is known as a source of social influence which leads to changes in students' behavior and even their social habits. Students spend most of their time in school and therefore they are heavily in company with their friends, who are those have a broad range of similarities with them. They play together, do assignments, participate in voluntary works, and so on. As a result, they have enough time to influence each other in different aspects of their life. For instance, a student who spends his/her leisure time on a sport like swimming can encourage his/her friend to the sport.

Second, teachers, admittedly, have an indisputable effect on students' behavior because they are responsible for students' behavior at school. Also, students are in exposure to teacher's beliefs and opinion in some classes like philosophy, anthropology, and so forth. Thus, students will learn a wide range of their knowledge and beliefs, which obviously affects their behavior, in teachers’ company. Furthermore, some teachers make an intimate atmosphere in classes through a sense of humor thanks to their teaching style. As a result, students feel more comfortable in classes and this type of intimacy leads to profound influences on students’ behavior.

In conclusion, given the provided arguments, it is my deep conviction that crucial factors in social influence are kindness and intimacy in relationships, and these key factors could be helpful in determining whether students are more influenced by teachers or friends.