TPO-17 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

These days, we have many choices to buy so companies have to put much effort to attract consumers. In my opinion, advertisement is one of the best ways because thanks to them, consumers think that products are much better than they really are. I have three reasons to support my idea.

The first reason is consumers pay not too much attention to the cost of products in advertisements. The main content of the advertisement is the appeal of merchandise so the cost of it is not emphasized. For example, when something is advertised in the TV program, the cost is stated at the end of the show. People are not likely to change their decision to buy if they know the cost after they decide.

The second reason is advertisements can provide customers with many good points of the goods. Therefore, they think the advantages to buy the products overweigh the disadvantages. For instance, when I was a freshman, I got a flyer that advertised a new watch. There were many functions of it, such as adjusting the time automatically and casting light. Eventually, I bought the one, but after the purchase, I learned that it didn't show the date.

The third reason is many colors used in advertisements make consumers want to buy the products. Colors have a large impact on a person's action. Let me introduce an example of this. According to the professor who majors in the function of colors, if people see red color, they want to pay money for something. Companies use such functions of colors effectively in their advertisements. As a result, consumers think that they should buy the products by seeing advertisements.

As I stated above, advertisements play an important role to make the products more attractive. I strongly stand by my opinion that most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.