TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Most if not all students today spend more time with their teachers and friends than with their parents. By interacting in the classroom, doing experiments and having fascinating activities together, they share every moment at school. In this process, students are inadvertently affected by their tutors and friends. From where I stand, in the growths of students, their teachers play a more influential role than their friends. I will elaborate my point of view in the following essay.

The first reason that comes to mind is that teachers can influence students by conveying knowledge. Nowadays, children who attend school are obliged to do a variety of things under the supervision of their tutors, such as writing essays, giving presentations, and taking examinations. From their teachers who provide complete instructions before a task and check their works after submission, students can grasp the essential knowledge as well as learn how to solve a problem. Without the assistance of their teachers, students, however, are more likely to waste their time in the classroom and eventually remember nothing about what they have learned. It is clear that teachers definitely exert an influence on their students. By contrast, it is impossible for students to gain knowledge from their peers who have similar knowledge.

Another reason is that teachers can provide more valuable opinions with their students because they have more experience. For example, once in his class, my teacher Mr. Jack warned us about the potential risks by telling us that the over-rapid development of the society has induced the gap between rich and poor in our city, which led to some crimes. He also said that thieves and murderers targeted on kids with the same age as us who hung out alone. From his lesson, I knew that I should raise my consciousness of safety and avoid to suffer dangerous situations. On the contrary, my friends hardly give such useful suggestions to me because they are innocent and naïve as well.

Furthermore, it is unsurprising that teachers who are expert in some new issues can make more effect on us. As known to all, confronting the fierce competition in the contemporary world, students have devoted themselves to study. Their schedule is so tight that they cannot afford to keep up with the trends. Therefore, they are less likely to know something new from their friends. Fortunately, teachers can offer their students with the latest issues like environmental preservation. For instance, students can be affected by teachers who encourage them to use environmentally friendly energy and take public transportation. Besides, with the aid of their teachers, students can learn how to contact with an expert specialized in the TOEFL test via an advanced video chat application. Undoubtedly, teachers are more influential in terms of new issues.

From the reason aforementioned, students are more likely affected by their teachers because they are more knowledgeable, able to provide invaluable suggestions, and familiar with the latest topics.