TPO-20 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Success has no definite rules and regulation except to work hard and to be patient. Sometimes people may have to adopt new ways and try new things; they may have to change their field or profession. But is it sure to get success by trying new things or it is not wise to take risks? Well, many people think that it is risky to try new things because there are chances that one might fail whereas I strongly believe that in order to achieve their goal it is essential to take risks and try new things for following reasons.

To, begin with, it is not certain to get success in only one specific field or from trying one particular method. Many people think that working hard is a “key to success” while trying new things has many advantages associated with it. Although, there are many great examples of people who started from doing one business but gradually they tried their hands on many different new things such as the great “Dhiru Bhai Ambani” who started from a small petrol pump and slowly he conquered almost every field. It is true that he did not get good response initially in every field of his choice, however, slowly he had attained great heights and today he is a well known businessman and comes in the list of top hundred most richest person in the world.

Though, there are people who don’t get success in one particular field, in that case it is wise to change that field and try something else. There is no certain pathway to follow to reach one’s goal, everyone is prone to do mistakes but a successful man is the one who learns from his/her mistakes and moves on. If a person has failed in a business or in some particular job then it is better to try something else. I can recall when I was working in a hospital as a Doctor; I was not able to achieve my goals. Hence, I decided to do private practice which was life changing decision for me although, it was quite risky but I did it anyway. After two years I turned out to be a very successful practitioner in my city. Therefore, I can suggest other people to take risks in life because one never knows what is written in destiny.

To sum up with, I can say that many a times we believe that we will do good in a particular thing but it is not always true. We do not know what will work for us as we all have hidden talents that will only be exposed and help us when we take risk. Also, fate plays a major role in getting success and if it’s not working in one thing, there is probability that it might work in some other new thing.