TPO-21:Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Views differ considerably when it comes to whether the social skill is more important than studying hard in school for people to gain success in a future job. As far as I am concerned, social skill plays an more important role than studying hard in one's future career.

First of all, by learning how to relate well to people, students will improve their communication skill , which is very important to their future success in career. In most companies, employees will not only need to coordinate with colleagues from different department, but also need to interact with different customers or partners from the third party companies. Being good at communication will definitely bring students some advantages in the future job as they know how to build good relationship with different personalities, which can not be learned by studying hard.

Moreover, students who have good social skills are able to build a good social network even before they graduate from university, which will benefit them a lot in their future career. For example, graduate students in United States will find it more easier to get a job interview opportunity if their resumes are referred by an employee from the company. In this case, social network becomes very essential as the more referrals they could get, the higher chance they could be selected by a company. Same idea will apply to those who want to set up their own business. The more friends they know, the more potential customers they have.

However, even though social skill does play an important role in most scenario, special case does exist when it refers to some jobs that only require the candidate to be focus on the academic research, so that they do not have to interact with other people at all. When it comes to such special case, it is not deniable that social skill may not be as important as studying hard. But such type of people only account for a very small proportion after all.

In summary, in spite of the exceptional cases, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school because it is an essential ability to have in order to gain success in the future career.