TPO-22 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In terms of students, teachers possess a nature of the authority, thus talking at the class; they have greatly affected on their listeners. Some people assert that teachers should impart their own view toward politics and society due to cultivation the students’ interest toward society. However, I completely disagree; the teacher should not talk about the politics issue to develop the students’ perspective toward society alone and to avoid misleading. Also, not everything stays in the students' mind for a long time due to the circumstances of the life.

Initially, teachers presenting their own perspectives hinder students' ability of independent thinking. Before students form independent and integral world outlook and values, they consider their teachers are always correct when they impart knowledge, accepting indiscriminately. As a result, in this stage, teachers pass on knowledge and views from themselves hastily, which closely negative bound up with students independent is thought form. What teachers should do is reminding themselves maintain neutrality and teaching them the sense of skepticism. From elementary school and middle school onwards, all of the political teachers told us socialism prior to capitalism, but they cannot interpret clearly. As the books of Marx I read, I started grabbing the main wisdom, until that time, I began to understand what the socialism is.

In the second stage, any opinion that put in one's mind is not lasting. Even teachers want their students more care about the hot spot of society and learn to analyze the world situation, this cannot work. Their students may remember this day, and next, this knowledge just flee away, this is, all things teachers do are no effective. Under this condition, their students not only barely remember the views their teachers give them, but also waste the time supposed to spend on mathematics, physic, and such significant subjects. Actually, I rarely remember or recall any opinions that my teachers present at the class, while the fact that I found by own still remember vividly.

Admittedly, some deem that the individual opinions presented by teachers in class benefits cultivating students' interest in politics and sociology, while several advantages can be obtained through other ways. To some extents, the student could be affected, because of the view shared by their teachers, which cannot be ignored by them. As we all know, being students, particularly Chinese ones, and college extermination entrance is the most important exam throughout their life. Therefore, teachers have to impart knowledge that is related to the certain subjects to allow students into their desire universities. In terms of this, though, there is a little utility, I sincerely frown upon that teachers speak aloud their own political and social views toward their students.

In conclusion, the reasons that I frown upon teachers talk about their political opinions and social points are elaborated upon. It is negative to students' independent thinks developing and lower study effectiveness. Consequently, I support the statement.