TPO 24: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

There is no shadow of doubts that in our modern era leaning social skills is of great importance as every individual should play his/her own role in society. In this regard, some people adhere to the notion that parents can help their children to prepare for adult life by encouraging them to take part-time jobs. I strongly concede this statement due to some convincing evidence. In the following paragraphs, I will cogently substantiate my viewpoint through some conspicuous reasons.

The most prominent point that everyone should consider is the fact that by this approach children gradually learn how to earn a livelihood which is very crucial for their future life. By experiencing a part-time job soon they will understand that nothing comes easily and they should strive for what they want and know the value of money. Also, they gradually learn some materials in the finance area. For instance, they will learn how to manage their budget and how to spend or save their money. undoubtedly It will have a positive impact on their future life. The studies have shown that people who had experienced a part-time job when they were children have higher economic intelligence in their adult life and are able to handle their finance and economic situation wisely as they have more experience.

The second noteworthy point coming to my mind is related to social skills. Learning how to make money is one aspect of a part-time job. By this approach parents also help their children to broaden their horizons about social life and also enhance their social skills. Having a part-time job help children to come out of their shell and interact with other people wisely. They will learn who to communicate with different people who have different attributes and temper. Hence, they will gradually have thicker mental skin which is very important in their adult life. In their future life, they would not be disappointed easily by other people as they have learned how to be patient and how interact with others. Also, these children will have more self-esteem and self-confidence, therefore, they would be able to endure setbacks in the future.

In conclusion, it seems reasonable to draw the conclusion that parents can help their children for their future life by stimulating them to have a part-time job as it helps the children to enhance their social skills and also become prepare for managing their economic life later. It is highly recommended that governments encourage parents to become inclined to this approach.